Computer Classes

The following classes are held in the

Computer Lab at the Main Library.

Space is limited and sign up is required.

To sign up or to get more information, call us on 419.521.3146.

 

Word®-the Basics

Tue. Mar. 14                    5:30 PM

Wed. May 17                         2 PM

Learn how to navigate, format text, save, and retrieve a file. Students will learn to use the Cut, Copy and Paste commands to move text, and how to use the Help feature.

 

Online Job Searching

Thu. Mar. 16                    5:30 PM

Wed. Apr. 12                         2 PM

Tue. Apr. 18                     5:30 PM

Learn how to search and apply for jobs online, using websites such as OhioMeansJobs.com.

 

Internet – the Basics

Tue. Mar. 21                  5:30 PM

Thu. Apr. 20                    5:30 PM

Wed. May 3                           2 PM

Thu. May 18                     5:30 PM

Learn to surf the Web with confidence. We’ll explain the basics of searching with hands-on activities. We’ll also show you how your library card gives you access to thousands of articles others have to pay to see.

 

 Résumé Design

Thu. Mar. 23                    5:30 PM

Thu. Apr. 27                    5:30 PM

Wed. May 10                         2 PM

Learn how to create an effective résumé; what to include and what to leave out so your résumé stands out!

 

Interview Skills

Tue. Mar. 28                    5:30 PM

Thu. May 11                     5:30 PM

Fri. May 19                       9:30 AM

Get prepared for the final step in the job search process. Learn interview skills or polish up on the ones you already have! Mock interviews will be part of this learning experience.

 

LinkedIn: An Introduction

Wed. Mar. 29                   9:30 AM

Sign up with the LinkedIn network to help your job search and gain visibility with employers, find and reconnect with colleagues and classmates, and create a professional profile.

 

Word®-Beyond the Basics

Thu. Apr. 6                      5:30 PM

Discover the Quick Access Toolbar, Autocorrect tips, how to use the Ruler and Tabs, and the Table function.

 

Job Seeker’s Workshop

Fri. Apr. 7  Drop-in, 9 AM-4 PM

For this drop-in session, we’ll be focusing on helping job seekers. Come by the Computer Lab any time for guidance on topics such as online job searching and résumé design.

 

Excel® – the Basics

Tue. Apr. 11                     5:30 PM

Wed. Apr. 26                   9:30 AM

Participants will learn how to create and format a spreadsheet using basic formulas for business or personal use.

 

Excel®-Beyond the Basics

Thu. May 4                       5:30 PM 

Extend your knowledge with new functions, advanced formatting with themes and using Excel-provided templates.

 

Word® – Advanced

Tue. May 9                       5:30 PM

If you’ve taken the first two Microsoft Word classes and want to learn more, this is the class for you.

 

Bringing the Library to Your Tablet

Tue. May 23                     5:30 PM

Join us for a relaxed session where you’ll learn to use your tablet to find fun, free audiobooks, ebooks, movies, music and magazines.

 

Ohio Means Jobs

Thu. May 25                     5:30 PM

Kickstart your job search by enrolling with the Ohio Means Jobs website. Learn how to create a profile and use the site for job searching, planning a career, online training and more.

 

The current class schedule is also printed in the At the Library newsletter available at all library branches.

Watch for a new class schedule to be posted at the end of May.

 


Book a Librarian

For E-Reader Help

Schedule a One-on-One for help with your new e-reader. The computer Lab staff is happy to help get your new device up and running. Whether you want to purchase books from Barnes & Noble or Amazon, or download books from the library's collection we are here to help. Call and make an appointment for individual help.

 

For Individual Computer Assistance

For individual computer assistance learning the basics of the library catalog, electronic databases and the Internet in a one-on-one session, or increase your computer knowledge. This computer assistance is offered at all locations. Please call your local library to schedule your individual session; availability may be limited.

Upcoming Events

Connect With Us

FacebookTwitterPinterest

First Call 211
Teen Zone
Family Zone