Amercian Library Association Book Awards

January 11, 2016

Award season is upon us today! You may be saying to yourself that the Academy Awards isn’t for another month, and the Golden Globes were last night. We’re not talking about the Oscars. We’re talking about the awards given out by the American Library Association (or as we librarians call it, ALA). Yes, every year librarians give out book awards to the books that deserve recognition. There are even categories for book awards from illustrators to authors and from children to young adult.

The John Newberry Medal is given to an author who “has made the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.” This award was founded in 1921, and was named for John Newbery, a bookseller from the eighteenth century. The 2016 winner of the Newberry Medal was awarded to Matt de la Pena for Last Stop on Market Street.  This book is about a young boy named CJ, who always travels by bus with his grandma.  He wonders why his family doesn't have a car or the finer things in life, but his grandma shows him the beauty he can see when riding the bus. The honor awards went to The War that Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, Roller girl by Victoria Jamieson, and Echo by Pamela Munoz Ryan.  

The Randolph Caldecott Medal is given to an illustrator who “has created art for the most distinguished American picture book for children.” The award was founded in 1939, and was named for Caldecott, a nineteenth century illustrator. The 2016 winner of the Caldecott Medal was awarded to Sophie Blackwell for her illustrations for Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear.  This book is about the bear that inspired Winnie-the-Pooh.  The honor awards went to Waiting written and illustrated by Kevin Henkes, Last Stop on Market Street illustrated by Christian Robinson, Trombone Shorty illustrated by Bryan Collier, and Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement illustrated by Ekua Holmes.

  • For more information about all of the awards and book winners given by the American Library Association click here


« Back to Family Zone

Upcoming Events

Connect With Us


First Call 211
Teen Zone
Family Zone
Learning Zone